Tuesday, 18 November 2014

Is it Gluten Free?

A Basic Diet Guide for people following a gluten free diet

Getting the gluten-free diet right is easy when you know the ground rules. Follow the guidelines below and you will be on your way to a happy, healthy gluten-free life.
This material is not intended to provide medical advice, which should be obtained directly from a physician.
YES
Foods made from grains (and grain-like plants) that do not contain harmful gluten, including: Corn in all forms (corn flour, corn meal, grits,etc.). Rice in all forms (white, brown, basmati and enriched rice). Also amaranth, buckwheat (kasha), Montina, millet, quinoa, teff, sorghum and soy.  We are of course putting uncontaminated oats onto this list that has been tested with NO traces of gluten.

The following ingredients:
Annatto, glucose syrup, lecithin, maltodextrin (even when it is made from wheat), oat gum, plain spices, silicon dioxide, starch, food starch and vinegar (only malt vinegar might contain gluten). Also citric, lactic and malic acids as well as sucrose, dextrose and lactose; and these baking products: arrowroot, cornstarch, guar and xanthan gums, tapioca four or starch, potato starch flour and potato starch, vanilla.

The following foods:
Milk, butter, margarine, real cheese, plain yogurt and vegetable oils including canola. Plain fruits, vegetables, (fresh, frozen and canned), meat, seafood, eggs, nuts, beans and legumes and flours made from them.
Distilled vinegar is gluten free. (See malt vinegar under NO below).
Distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free because distillation effectively removes gluten from wheat. They are not gluten free if gluten-containing ingredients are added after distillation, but this rarely, if ever, happens.
Mono and diglycerides are fats and are gluten free.
Spices are gluten free. If there is no ingredient list on the container, it contains only the pure spice noted on the label.

NO
Wheat in all forms including spelt, kamut, triticale (a combination of wheat and rye), durum, einkorn, farina, semolina, cake flour, matzo (or matzah) and couscous.

Ingredients with "wheat" in the name including wheat starch, modified wheat starch, hydrolyzed wheat protein and pregelatinized wheat protein. Buckwheat, which is gluten free, is an exception.
Barley and malt, which is usually made from barley, malt syrup, malt extract, malt flavouring and malt vinegar.

Rye
Breaded or floured meat, poultry, seafood and vegetables. Also meat, poultry and vegetables when they have a sauce or marinade that contain gluten, such as soy and teriyaki sauces.

Licorice, imitation crab meat, beer, most is fermented from barley. (Specialty gluten-free beer is available from several companies.)
MAYBE
Dextrin can be made from wheat, which would be noted on the label, and would not be gluten free.

Flavourings are usually gluten free, but in rare instances can contain wheat or barley. By law, wheat would have to be labelled. Barley is usually called malt flavouring. In extremely rare instances, neither barley nor malt is specified in flavouring.
Modified food starch is gluten free, except when wheat is noted on the label, either as "modified wheat starch," modified starch (wheat) or if the Contains statement at the end of the ingredients list includes wheat.

Oats used to be considered unsafe, but recent research has shown that a moderate amount of special pure oats is safe for most coeliacs. Several companies produce oats specifically for the GF market. They are labelled gluten free.
Pharmaceuticals can contain gluten, although most are gluten free. Check with the pharmaceutical company, especially if you take the medication on a continuing basis.

Processed cheese (spray cheese, for example) may contain gluten. Real cheese is gluten free.
Seasonings and seasoning mixes could contain gluten. Wheat will be noted on the label as required by law.

Soy Sauce is usually fermented from wheat. However, some brands don't include wheat and are gluten free.
Read the label to be sure.
Special Cases
Caramel colour is almost always made from corn, but it can be made from malt syrup. However, in more than 10 years, we have not been able to find a single instance of a caramel colour produced this way. Companies in North America say they use corn. You can consider caramel colour GF.

Hydrolyzed vegetable protein is a phrase that under federal regulation should not be used on a food label. Food processors have to identify the "vegetable." So you might read "hydrolyzed wheat protein," which would not be gluten free, or "hydrolyzed soy protein," which is gluten free.

Chewy Caramel Bars

Chewy Caramel Bars
 
Ingredients

1 cup rolled oats
16 medjool dates, seeds removed
½ cup roasted almond butter*
½ tspn concentrated natural vanilla extract
pinch of salt

Method

Preheat oven to 175°C or 350°F
Grease and line a loaf tin with baking paper.  (the tin we used Is 19.5cm x 9.5cm)
Place the ingredients into your food processor in the order listed above.  Pulse at a high speed until the mixture is well combined and the dates and oats have broken down.
Press the mixture firmly into your prepared tin
Bake for 15 minutes
Allow to cool in the tin for 15 minutes before gently moving to a cooling rack
Cool for a further 15 minutes prior to cutting
Serve.  Eat.  Enjoy.

*Almond butter is readily available in the health food section of the supermarket or health food stores.  You can also make your own.  You can substitute the almond butter with hulled tahini to make these nut free.

Recipe sourced from: www.wholefoodsimply.com

Tuesday, 4 November 2014

Anzac Biscuit Slice



Ingredients

1 cup of Gluten Free Self Raising Flour
1 cup of coconut
1 cup of brown sugar
1 cup of GF Uncontaminated Oats
80g Butter (Nuttelex for Dairy Free option)
2 tablespoon of syrup
2-3 tablespoons of hot water

 
Method

Place all the dry ingredients together.

Place the butter and syrup in the microwave for 1 minute. Add this to the dry ingredients.

Add hot water 1 tablespoon at a time until the mixture just binds together.

Press into a prepared tray.

Bake in the oven at about 160oC for 10-12 minutes or until well browned.

Leave on the tray until they cool. If they are still too soft place back into a warm oven for 15 minutes and they will dry out.

Nutty Choc Granola Recipe


Ingredients

1 cup GF oats
1 cup walnuts
1 cup macadamias and/or hazelnuts
1 cup desiccated coconut
1/2 almonds
1/2 cup buckinis
1/4 cup raw pepitas
1/4 cranberries
1/4 cup goji berries
1/2 cup raw cacao powder
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 tablespoon vanilla powder
1/2 cup coconut oil
1/2 cup rice malt syrup or raw honey
1/4 cup coconut flower nectar (I highly prefer Coconut Magic Coconut Nectar)



Method

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees fan-forced.

Place all the nuts, seeds, berries and powders into a food processor and pulse until mixed and roughly chopped. Pour into a large bowl and set aside.

Heat the coconut oil, syrup or honey and Coconut Nectar into a small saucepan to melt and blend through.

Pour the melted syrup into the centre of the bowl and stir through the dry mixture until sticky and well combined.

Scoop out the granola onto a large baking tray that’s lined with baking paper and spread evenly across.

Place into the oven and bake for approximately 10 minutes.

Once the granola is removed from the oven leave it sit to cool. It will become crunchy and crisp!

Store in a glass jar in either the fridge or pantry.


www.Mindbodyfood.net/nutty-choc-granola-recipe

Order your Gloriously Free Uncontaminated Oats here...