Tuesday, 27 May 2014

Do Oats Contain Gluten?




This is a “loaded question” to answer if you are the distributor of a product that is classified as “gluten free” in other parts of the world BUT here in Australia we are unable to label it as such. We are asked this question on a daily basis here in the offices at GK Gluten Free Foods, where we are always careful to explain to people why we are unable to label or claim a gluten free status here in Australia.


The following excerpt has come from the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center.

A large body of scientific evidence accumulated over more than 15 years has proven that oats are completely safe for the vast majority of celiac patients. Oats are not related to gluten-containing grains such as wheat, barley and rye. They don’t contain gluten, but rather proteins called avenins that are non-toxic and tolerated by most celiacs (perhaps less than 1% of celiac patients show a reaction to a large amount of oats in their diets).

Oats can be in a celiac’s diet provided they are selected from sources that guarantee a lack of contamination by wheat, rye or barley.

Some who add oats to their diet may experience GI symptoms. This may actually be a result of the increased fiber that oats provide instead of a reaction to the oats themselves.

http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/archives/faq/do-oats-contain-gluten

No comments: