Wednesday, 29 January 2014

Protein content found in Grains


Oat Safety Summary

Oats contain a form of gluten often times referred to as avenin, and this protein represents  12-16% of the total protein found in oats.   This in and of itself makes it virtually impossible for oats to be gluten free.  In fact as you can see from the diagram below, ALL grains contain protein which is a form of gluten. This numbers are however low compared to the 69% gluten protein composition of wheat, and it may in part account for the fact that people report less negative reactions when consuming oats.  It is well established the 20 ppm (parts per million) – roughly the size of a bread crumb is enough gluten to create and inflammatory reaction in patients with gluten sensitivity.  It has also been shown that many patient embarking on a traditional gluten free diet (avoiding wheat, barley, and rye, but not other grains) continue to remain ill.   The diagram below compares the gluten protein content of different grains:

 

Sourced from: http://www.glutenfreesociety.org/

No comments: