Thursday, 10 May 2012

What are some of the traps when following a wheat free diet?

What are some of the traps when following a wheat free diet?

Once you have been diagnosed with wheat allergy or wheat intolerance it becomes extremely important to eat a wheat free diet. Wheat and wheat ingredients are present in a vast majority of food products, hence sometimes it becomes difficult to find out whether a particular food item has wheat ingredients or not, unless specified as wheat free. With a little practice you can easily develop the skills of distinguishing between wheat containing and wheat free food products.

Read food labels skillfully

For a wheat free living you should be skilled in reading food labels. Locate the complete label and read each ingredient carefully. Don’t get trapped if the word “wheat” is missing from the food label. Many of the wheat containing ingredients do not contain the word ‘wheat’.  Watch out for the following terms: Semolina, couscous, bran, soya sauce, wheat germ and hydrolyzed vegetable protein.

You should be aware of the various food ingredients which contain wheat. Keep a small list of such ingredients in your pocket for easy reference.

Eating out wheat free

One of the biggest challenges to wheat free living is eating in a restaurant. Wheat is a usual ingredient of many of the food items served at a restaurant. It is recommended to always ask questions regarding the ingredients and to request wheat free foods.

Many restaurants have their food menus published online, though often the ingredient list is not included. It is advisable to call the restaurant and enquire about the various wheat free food options available in advance. This will make it easier for you to order wheat free food when you are actually there.

Eating wheat free at a party

Wheat free eating can also be a challenge when you are invited to a friend’s place. In such situations, it is advisable to avoid all food products which usually contain wheat. Some such foods are sauces, cakes, pastries, cookies, pies, fried chicken, pizzas, burgers, soups etc.

Always ask for wheat free foods or gluten free foods as if it is gluten free it is definitely wheat free. It is still better to tell in advance about your preference for wheat free food products.

No comments: