Tuesday, 1 May 2012

Ingredients to Avoid While Following a Wheat-Free Diet

Ingredients to AVOID While Following a Wheat-Free Diet

Always read labels as some of the following may be safe for a wheat-free diet as long as they are labeled wheat- or gluten-free. For instance, beer often contains wheat since it is a common ingredient used in the brewing process. However, there are beers that are labeled as wheat free or “gluten free.” Breads, cereals, noodles, and other products may also be safe as long as you check the ingredient label for wheat.

Wheat-Free Diet
Abyssinian Wheat
Beer


Binder/Binding


Blue Cheese (often made using moldy breadcrumbs that contain wheat)
Bread


Bulgar Wheat
Cereal


Cereal Binders
Cereal Protein


Chapattis
Chips, French Fries (check ingredients if not making from pure potatoes at home)


Couscous
Dextrin


Durum Wheat


Edible Starch
Einkorn Wheat


Farina
Filler


Flour
Food Starch


Fu (dried wheat gluten)
Gnocchi


Gum Base
Kamut


Licorice
Manna


Miso
Modified Food Starch


Modified Starch
Muesli


Mustard Powder (usually contains wheat)
Noodles Pasta


Pepper, Ground (contains wheat to prevent it sticking together)
Pita Bread


Quorn (vegetable protein that often contains wheat)
Rusk


Sauces
Semolina


Soy Sauce
Spelt Flour


Starch
Stock


Stock Cubes
Stuffing


Suet
Tamari, Regular


Tartar Sauce
Thickener


Tortillas
Triticale


Vegetable Protein
Wheat


Wheat Bran
Wheat Flour


Wheat Nuts
Wheat Germ


Wheat Germ Oil
Wheat meal


White Pepper (contains wheat to prevent clumping)
Wholegrain


Whole wheat
To buy budget wheat free products go to www.Wheatfree.com.au

No comments: